Skip to main content

Advice - New Network Admin

More
18 years 5 months ago #11683 by susetechie
Hi All,

First let me say, I love this site! I have never found such a wealth of information in one place!

on to business..lol. I have been in the IT world for about 10 years and in networking for at least half of that. I have been a network analyst as well as a network administrator but never managed my own WAN. I recently was offered a position in a company where the network is in need of a complete overhaul. its slow and inefficient. I will be in charge of redoing it all. I am a little overwhelmed with being given this task. I guess I am just looking for some pointers as to how to approach being given a clean slate. I have never really desinged my own WAN. I have done a LAN and managed internal routers, but have never been tasked with doing a frame or any sort of WAN.

I am up for any advice that you guys can come up with!

TIA,
M

"Go away or I will replace you with a very small shell script"
More
18 years 5 months ago #11686 by mozes
Replied by mozes on topic .
hey.
I think you should give more details, like - what equipment you have, what tech u use (frame,cell,packet...), how vast is the network etc. :roll:

always up up,
MoZeS...=)
More
18 years 5 months ago #11687 by susetechie
thanks for your reply. I think more or less i am looking for a broad answer. how long time network admins would approach a situation like this in regards to examining a network to try to overhaul. i am not really looking for specifics on devices or configs, yet..lol.

i am looking at basically a hub office with several remote offices, some more than several states away. trying to figure out how to really dive into this at the beginning.

thanks

"Go away or I will replace you with a very small shell script"
More
18 years 5 months ago #11696 by IP-bod
Heya,