Skip to main content

Router keels over..

More
21 years 2 months ago #505 by Steve
Router keels over.. was created by Steve
I have broadband connection through D-Link DSL-300G+ modem and BR41 router (cheap stuff from EBuyer) with 3 PCs connected. I am very new to networking etc but need some help. All PCs can access the internet with no probs. However, on two occasions, the router has just seemed to die of death! Meaning, the connection to the router from any PC is lost. I have tried to ping the router but to no avail. Restarting the router does no good. For some reason I need to switch off all PCs and router and restart - then the internet is available. I use XP home and the other PCs use 98SE. Confused - Help please. [img]images/smiles/icon_confused.gif[/img]
More
21 years 2 months ago #506 by Chris
Replied by Chris on topic Router keels over..
Steve,

Sounds like you have a wired problem, but then again, that's pretty normal when you gota deal with Windows machines [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

I have a question for you, before I can try and suggest a few things you can try.
It is not all that clear to me how exactly you have the 3 pc's connected with a DSL mode and a Router.

After looking at the products, my guess would be that you have the 3PC's connected to the router, which in its turn is connected directly to the DSL modem ?

Can you please clarify on your setup and let us know if your using static or dynamic IP addressing in your internal network.

Also, when you had the problem occuring, did you check all workstations to see if they had the correct IP address which you have set for the internal network ?

Cheers,

[img]images/smiles/icon_cool.gif[/img]

Chris Partsenidis.
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
www.Firewall.cx
More
21 years 2 months ago #507 by Steve
Replied by Steve on topic Router keels over..
Thanks for the reply.