Skip to main content

I WILL TO KNOW WHY UNIX DONT NEED ANTI-VIRUS

More
15 years 8 months ago #26693 by routik
Hi guys,
I need a detailed explanation why Unix dont need an anti-virus
and will also like to know the challenges in reformatting with unix, in terms of system drivers.

Visions are never fully formulated. they develop with time.
More
15 years 8 months ago #26697 by S0lo

I need a detailed explanation why Unix dont need an anti-virus

I'm no expert in UNIX, but I think that it's simply because there are few viruses on Unix when compared to other OSes like Windows or linux. The more people use an OS, the more hackers target it hence the more viruses they create. which leads to more demand for anti viruses.

Studying CCNP...

Ammar Muqaddas
Forum Moderator
www.firewall.cx
More
15 years 8 months ago #26723 by KiLLaBeE
More
15 years 7 months ago #27107 by silentko
Also because its really hard to write a virus for unix/linux because of the tight security and the fact that you cant run any mayor apps without being root or allow by it.

and alot more.
More
14 years 3 months ago #33200 by jester
Although this thread is little bit old, i give my share
There are very less number of virus for Unix ,when compared to windows .
1. In windows all the important kernel,device files and other essential files are located mostly in System/system32 folders,virus programmers target that easily but in Unix it has rich directory set root,/dev,/etc,/export/home,/devices ,/usr the kernel ,important device files are distributed widely and changes according to different destros
2. In Unix for example solaris uses a dynamic kernel ,which gives user, full freedom to mount root file in whatever the slice he wants
and similarly the other important files can be mounted accordingly but must be properly mapped in the related .conf files for the utilities and Daemons to work .