Skip to main content

Wireless: D-Link DWL-2000AP or Linksys WAP54G

More
20 years 4 months ago #1971 by Neon
Hey all...

I'm quite new to wireless networking, haven’t actually built a wireless network yet but I am confident on my abilities, I know all the security issues with WLANs etc but regardless of that I would like to implement a WLAN AP in my home network.

I was looking around at some AP's and found the D-Link DWL-2000AP and the Linksys WAP54G in my price range. Has anyone had any experience with these 2 products, or is there some other brand that could be also an option. So far my finger is on D-Link as they have Tech Support in Australia, and as far as I can tell Linksys doesn’t really have an Australian branch.

But other than that, what I was planning to do was setup a MAC address filter, and static addressing for my wireless machines so the AP doesn’t just 'give out' access to my network.

What are your views on WLANs? And of course what I came here to find out, which of the two APs here would you pick?
More
20 years 4 months ago #1972 by tfs
The problem is that it is really a personal choice. I happen to like the Linksys devices as I have used, and know a few people that have used them, with good results.

I don't know whether the WAP54G has a firewall or not, but you might look at that also. I had just helped a friend install a firewall/wireless router which seems to work pretty well. Installed in minutes.

I myself have not used DLINK but know that a lot of people swear by them.

Make sure you also set WEP to give youself the best protection.

As far as Tech support goes, you only get Phone tech support from Linksys, so it doesn't matter where they are located. Not sure about DLINK. Normally, with this type of commodity product, you either take it back to store you bought it from or send it into the manufacturer. I assume DLINK is the same way (could be wrong there).

Thanks,

Tom
More
20 years 4 months ago #1973 by sahirh