Skip to main content

what is ip address is 0.0.0.0?

More
19 years 8 months ago #4838 by Raghupyapili
I work as an Technical Help desk agent and while Troubleshooting cases reg the connectivity of DSL people say they get the ip address 0.0.0.0 and so is the Subnetmask and Default gateway.Would that mean that the OS is looking at the dial adapter instead of the N/W adapter or the NIC is not functioning properly. would release and renew ip address work?
Some say ping 127.0.0.1 says nothing abt NIC. is it true?
does uninstall and reinstall TCP/IP work?
More
19 years 8 months ago #4841 by sahirh
if you're seeing an ip of 0.0.0.0 in a winblows box, it means you didnt give it an IP...

If you use DHCP the release / renew should give you an IP.. if it doesnt then after a while windows will give it an autoconfiguration IP.. such as 169.x.x.x

Sahir Hidayatullah.
Firewall.cx Staff - Associate Editor & Security Advisor
tftfotw.blogspot.com
More
19 years 7 months ago #5449 by anystupidassname
Replied by anystupidassname on topic 0.0.0.0/0
like ragamuffin said, usually means nothing or everything.

when reported by IPCONFIG or IFCONFIG means no address assigned to interface

when used in proxy apps such as a spam proxy on your localhost, usually refers to binding to or listening on all local address/interfaces
More
19 years 7 months ago #5452 by thompsg
To my knowledge 127.0.0.1 is the loop back address.. it tests your nic and tcp/ip stack..

I might be wrong about the stack part... :?
More
19 years 7 months ago #5474 by voodoochild

To my knowledge 127.0.0.1 is the loop back address.. it tests your nic and tcp/ip stack..

I might be wrong about the stack part... :?

That is exactly correct. It's an internal address so if that test fails it's more than likely going to be a problem with TCP/IP