Skip to main content

Configure 1841 router and 2 PCs

More
14 years 1 day ago #34478 by itchyz
Network newbie here. I'm using Packet Tracer to build a simple network with an 1841 router and two PCs. I can configure the router interfaces and power it on. How do the pcs get their ip addresses? I've tried giving the PCs static addresses but pinging from one to the other is unsuccessful. I also tried setting the PC for dhcp addressing but when I power on the router, the pcs still don't have ip addresses. Any suggestions?
More
14 years 1 day ago #34479 by broadcaststorm
Assuming each PC is attached to an ethernet interface on the router;

1. Each PC will need a default gateway. The default gateway address is the IP address of the interface the PC is attached to on the router.

2. Because it's a router the IP addresses on each ethernet interface on the router need to be in separate subnets.

3. Because you are attaching PC's to a router, the cables need to be crossover cables.

If you want the PC's to get their IP addresses via DHCP, you will need to set the router up to provide DHCP services, as they don't do it by default, or you need to add a proper DHCP server. But if you want to add a server, you'll need to add a switch as there isn't going to be a spare ethernet port on the router for the server to plug in to.

If you have a switch attached to the router, the router interface will need an IP address which will be the default gateway for BOTH PC's. Each PC will need a host address in the same subnet as the default gateway but that's it.
More
14 years 1 day ago #34480 by Arani
Replied by Arani on topic ...
Ok since this is a basic network structure, avoid complications by using multiple router interfaces.
Use one router interface to connect to a hub. Note the IP address you assign to this interface.