Skip to main content

WAN Connectivity Quandry

More
14 years 5 months ago #32694 by katzebnt
Firewall.cx routing gurus,

I'll be transitioning from military to civilian life within a year and need a tiny bit of advice: What WAN connectivity technology will I encounter the most? I have ATM experience from the Navy and two Alcatel Omniswitches that I use in my lab at home. I have no practical experience with Frame Relay except in my lab (5 17xx routers w/ WIC-2T in frame-relay switching mode). Played around with VPN. Where should I be focusing my lab time? ATM, Frame-Relay, VPN / Broadband, PPP, all of the above? Thanks for your help in advance!

~katze
More
14 years 5 months ago #32696 by novembre
In New Zealand ATM and Frame Relay are legacy. Is it being / has been replaced by Ethernet with MPLS. Ethernet being delivered either over optical links or copper SHDSL. MPLS being used to create VPNs (L3 & L2).

ADSL/2+ is the most common residential solution followed by Cable. Dial-up is legacy.
More
14 years 5 months ago #32699 by TheBishop
Similar story in the UK; loads of DSL and MPLS, ISDN is still here but is now becoming legacy. We just don't do Frame Relay over here at all; it's just one of those arcane subjects we Brits have to learn if we want to pass a Cisco exam and then forget immediately afterwards because we'll never see the thing. So if you're a Frame Relay guru you've got a great start for your certifications! Or you could even become an instructor.
More
14 years 5 months ago #32707 by katzebnt

Similar story in the UK; loads of DSL and MPLS, ISDN is still here but is now becoming legacy. We just don't do Frame Relay over here at all; it's just one of those arcane subjects we Brits have to learn if we want to pass a Cisco exam and then forget immediately afterwards because we'll never see the thing. So if you're a Frame Relay guru you've got a great start for your certifications! Or you could even become an instructor.