Skip to main content

inter vlan routing

More
17 years 4 months ago #19118 by hadi
inter vlan routing was created by hadi
Hi
I am working on vlans and I am a beginner.
My question is this?
How does router route vlan packets between vlans? Does router change vlan id or not?
for example, we have 2 vlans. if a packet with vlan id=1 departs vlan1 and enters to the neighbor router, does the router change the vlan id value or not?
Thanks
More
17 years 4 months ago #19122 by Smurf
Replied by Smurf on topic Re: inter vlan routing
Hi Hadi and welcome to the community.

In answer to your question, the router will change the vlan id.

To route packets, you need to perform some sort of routing. This is the basic concept of getting packets from one subnet to another and is used to segment networks in order to make the broadcast domains smaller to improve on network performance (among other reasons).

Anyhow, if you keep this in mind, the same applies to InterVLAN Comminications. You need a way to route between the VLAN's which will need to be done at layer 3 in order to route using IP Addressing (unless you use bridging at layer 2 but there is no point since you then merge the broadcast domains again, loosing one of the main reasons for segmenting).

The way it works (refered to as Router-on-a-stick) is that you have a router connected to a switch using a VLAN Trunk Link. VLAN traffic is trunked through to the router from the switch (Cisco can use a propriatery protocol called ISL or a IEEE standard called 802.1Q for the encapsulation). It is basically the method used to identify which VLAN the traffic belongs to when it gets to the other end of the trunk.