Skip to main content

routing or addressing problem?

More
21 years 2 weeks ago #162 by elsie
I'm sorry, I know this will be long, since I have a lot of detail to add to the question, but I think (hope) it will be useful information for others to know the answer. I am a network administrator in training, so I hope you will bear with me if this doesn't make sense or I should know the answer. I have found your site more helpful than anything else I've seen - your easy style and readability have clarified a few things that have been confusing me.
Background: A PTP network for a small business with three locations. In addition to the host computers at each location, Location #1 has a LAN router that has connections to a DSL internet router, and a WAN router connected by nailed 56K to a WAN router at Location #2. Location #2 has the WAN router, a hub, and a fiber connection to Location #3 - location #2 and 3 are seen as one network. Location #3 only has the fiber connection and a hub for the LAN.
The guy that set it all up used the 192.168.111 net address for all the equipment in all locations, and it has a subnet mask 255.255.255.0 and therein may be my problem, I think. I can ping all computers and routers from all locations, but from Locations 2 & 3 I cannot access the internet, just the router.
Question: do you think that changing the IP addressing would fix this problem? When I check the route that things are taking from Locations 2 & 3, it checks out fine clear to the internet router. So I am not sure ......

[ 19 April 2003: Message edited by: elsie ]
More
21 years 1 week ago #163 by Chris
Elsie,

If i have correctly understood, you have 3 LAN's connected between each other and they all use the 192.168.111.0 network address with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0.

This type of a setup is bound to produce routing problems and is something you need to fix before trying to troubleshoot anything else.