Skip to main content

"Lesser" certifications... any point?

More
14 years 6 months ago #31798 by Electrofreak
Hey folks. I've been fixing computers as a second job for years but a couple months ago finally decided to get off my butt and dive into business-level networking.

I started simply by studying for the Network+, and found that I didn't feel particularly challenged by the certification. I'm working on the CCENT/CCNA, and trying to decide whether I should bother picking up the Network+ certification at all, and whether I should shoot straight for the CCNA and not bother with the CCENT.

I'm making good progress on the CCNA and I'm not sure if taking the CCENT will be necessary.

The reason I ask this question is that I've been hearing a lot (on this forum, as well as others) about how people who "brain dump" (didn't even know the term until I Wikipedia'd it this morning) have been damaging the integrity of the certification.

Now, I take a fair measure of pride in what I know, but I'm concerned how a lonely CCNA certification will look on my otherwise tech-bare resume. I don't have a degree yet (had to drop out to look after my infant child), and I want to do whatever I need to do to avoid being written off as a risk by a potential employer viewing resumes.

Or, am I worrying too much? And on the flip side, might the "lesser" certifications make me look too wet behind the ears?

Looking for a bit from advice from someone who might be able to help me make a decision on whether I should bother taking these certs. I plan on aiming for CCNP as soon as I get the CCNA, and then working on other CCxP certs to broaden my horizons a bit. I'm trying to get my foot in the door in the tech industry, but in my home city (housing a tech institute and 2 major corporations that just outsourced a lot of their tech jobs), competition is fierce.