Skip to main content

Network Administration and Security help needed.

More
18 years 7 months ago #9948 by decolnz
Hi guys
after finishing my CCNA i have finally got an internaship kind of job with one of our local firms in my are.This firm has employed me as a network ADMINISTARATOR for there firm of which i have to monitor,administer and also troubleshoot using my CCNA knowlegde i have attained.
My cry to you guys is that i need some guidelines and probablly your assistance as far as network administation and monitoring is concerned since some of you guys have already gotten the experience from the field.
i am still new to the field that is why i am crying out for help so as to secure the job.i trust you guyz.

#4ever n 4always#
More
18 years 7 months ago #9950 by TheBishop
Replied by TheBishop on topic Job
Congratulations on your job!
If I were the only person there responsible for the network, my approach would be something like the following. You may however be working with someone else so you might have to fit in around their ideas, or there might be expectations already defined by the company or management. Ask questions and find out!
Anyway, on with the suggestions:
1) Audit the network. Do they have existing network drawings? Written documentation? If not, have a walk round and make your own. If they do, is it comprehensive (you're a newcomer, does it help you enough? If not, how could you improve it)