Skip to main content

Watchguard Firewall & Linksys Wireless Router

More
20 years 8 months ago #195 by Flyer
Greetings,

I am new to networking so forgive any ignorant questions. Is it possible to configure a Linksys WRT54g router with a Watchguard 6010tc firewall? If so, any thoughts on the best method? This is for a
home network sharing a cable connection w/a
desktop and a wireless laptop.

Thanks for your efforts! [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]
More
20 years 8 months ago #196 by Chris
Flyer,

Welcome to the world of networking [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Can you give us a bit more information on what exactly a Watchguard 6010tc firewall is? The closest thing to it that I found was a compaq workstation model 6010tc, but I'm not sure if that's what you mean.

Also, where are you connecting your Linksys device? Since we can't see what current setup you have, it would be helpful to provide a rough diagram of what you have now and what you want to achive.

Chris Partsenidis.
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
www.Firewall.cx
More
20 years 8 months ago #198 by Flyer
[ 13 July 2003: Message edited by: Flyer ]
I was going to edit my last post here but didn't see the edit post option, sorry [img]images/smiles/icon_redface.gif[/img]

[ 13 July 2003: Message edited by: Flyer ]
More
20 years 8 months ago #199 by Chris
Flyer,

Thanks for the information.
I checked the website you included and had a quick view of the product.

Even though it could possibly be considered an overkill, if you happen to have one of these boxes lying around, then use it. I'd do the same!

So the question is where would you place the box? I beleive the correct answer (without being 100% sure) would be between your linksys router and your home network:

Internet<----> Cable Modem<--->Linksys router<---->Watchguard<---LAN