Skip to main content

hi please help

More
17 years 6 months ago #17268 by Maythegeek
hi please help was created by Maythegeek
hi all
i am an engineering student and i am interested in pursuing networking as a career.
i am already an MCP and preapring for CCNA exam.
i am doing a project for a company in which i have to secure their LAN,WAN.I am implementing access lists,VLAN security and stateful packet filtering using PIX firewall.
i am being coached by the company guide who gives me gruelling asssignments after the theory class and sees to it that i complete the assignment before i touch the router's,switches in the lab.Its helping me getting my concepts clear.
Can someone tell me if the project will help me later in life after my degree to get a job and stay ahead of competiton in the long line of freshers looking for a job.
waiting for ur replies...
thanking you all in advance.......
More
17 years 6 months ago #17271 by Smurf
Replied by Smurf on topic Re: hi please help
I would have to say yes. You are already getting a good start by going for the MCP's and CCNA. This gives you the certification to say that you have passed all the requirements set by Microsoft and Cisco.

The added benefit that you have is that you are getting loads of exposure to the equipment and hands on experience so you will be steps ahead of the "Paper MCP's" & "Paper CCNA's" who have just read the books and passed the exams.

Good luck in your studies :)

Wayne Murphy
Firewall.cx Team Member
www.firewall.cx

Now working for a Security Company called Sec-1 Ltd in the UK, for any
Penetration Testing work visit www.sec-1.com or PM me for details.
More
17 years 6 months ago #17284 by Starfire
Replied by Starfire on topic Re: hi please help