Skip to main content

Getting your foot into the Networking/IT field...

More
16 years 8 months ago #22846 by Holmes245
First of all, I apologize if this subject has already come up. I looked around and didn't see anything immediately on this subject; however, if so then just refer me to that post if you will.

Before I ask my question to you all, let me first explain my situation. I'm currently going to school for an A.S. in Computer Information Technology with an emphasis toward Networking. I've had no previous experience with computers prior to going back to school for this, a side from using a computer at home or at work.

Up until this past semester, I was going to school full time, however, I'm going to have to get a job and start going to school in the evenings as I won't yet have my A.S. completed. I'm wanting to get a job in the IT field, however, I don't feel that the classes I'm taking are adequately training me. I feel like I'm getting a "sampling" of these subjects. Also, I've only taken the first class, Networking Essentials, in the Cisco Network Academy so I don't have a lot of networking knowledge other than what's covered in the textbook. Even at that, no hands-on experience. Therefore, I'm scratching my head as to how I can get my foot in the door of this field. I've heard from some that college may not, or is not enough, and that CCNA does not guarantee a position, especially if you have no experience. Therefore I ask:

How did some of you enter into the networking field?

I want to be passionate about what I'm doing, but I feel like I've been working toward something that may not hold any real promise for me. Is there another way I could be going about doing it? Are there programs where mentors could train beginners, whether paid or not (i.e., internships) where experience could be obtained? Anything I'm not thinking of? Please share your thoughts, whatever is on your mind, whether good or bad.
More
16 years 8 months ago #22850 by KiLLaBeE