Skip to main content

ADSL and telephones

More
17 years 5 months ago #18638 by Arani
ADSL and telephones was created by Arani
hi,
problem : broadband via ADSL is working, but my landline is dead.
how i troubleshooted :
1) changed the telephone set - no joy
2) changed the wire connecting the telephone set to the ADSL filter - no joy
3) changed the filter and repeated steps 1 and 2 - no joy
4) plugged the phone straight into the main telephone socket - no joy
5) lodged a fault with my telephone company, they said there's nothing wrong with the line, it is my end device i.e. the telephone that is faulty. changed the telephone set again for the 3rd time - no joy

is there any other way i can test my telephone line, apart from trying to use my dialup modem to dial a number? any online software which can diagnose my telephone line?
i am not very good with ericsson or realitis switches, so i am in total darkness regarding this peculiar thing. the broadband works, but the telephone doesn't!!!
any leads chaps?

Picking pebbles on the shore of the networking ocean
More
17 years 5 months ago #18639 by GTM
Replied by GTM on topic Re: ADSL and telephones
Do you know of you have a test socket if you do it will be directly behind the face plate of the master socket if ya do try that.
More
17 years 5 months ago #18640 by DaLight
Replied by DaLight on topic Re: ADSL and telephones
How many other phone sockets have you got at home? Have you tried them?
More
17 years 5 months ago #18641 by Arani
Replied by Arani on topic nope
hi dalight
i live in a shared house and my room has the only telephone line. so the socket in my room is the master socket.

Picking pebbles on the shore of the networking ocean
More
17 years 5 months ago #18652 by Smurf
Replied by Smurf on topic Re: ADSL and telephones
Hi Arani,