Skip to main content

firewall choices

More
20 years 5 months ago #1770 by bwana
firewall choices was created by bwana
A quick glance at the posts on this bbs shows most in favor of cisco pix, sonicwall, checkpoint.

What do these boxes have over a smoothwall or zone alarm pro that makes them better? Obviously I'm a layman (where do we get that word?), but im interested in setting up a box at home to keep my kids from irc and im. I currently use a netgear fvs318. I could block the ports (if i knew them) buti'd rather block everything and just allow port 80 on their machines. I've gone over to manual ip addressing so i could thus control specific machines (with dhcp, they'd get a new ip addy with reboot). I think i'll have to dump the netgear and use my old p3 with 2 nics in it. DSL->old p3 running smoothwall->netgear switch
>many boxes+wap.

what suggestions/thoughts/criticisms can you offer? I imagine this is a common problem so if you know that it's already been addressed in a faq, forgive me and point me to it.

tnx

stefan :roll:
More
20 years 5 months ago #1772 by sahirh
Replied by sahirh on topic Re: firewall choices
Hey bwana,
first off the Cisco PIX, Checkpoint and Sonicwall are usually considered enterprise level firewalls.. something like zonealarm is a personal firewall, designed to be used on each individual machine. It does not stand as a gateway between their machine and the outside host.

If you want to block IRC you could consider blocking port 6667-6669 outgoing connections, this will prevent them from accessing most IRC servers, otherwise if you wanna use a personal firewall, you can setup zonealarm not to allow mirc.exe (or whatever their irc client is) to access the internet, then you just password protect zonealarm and they can't shut it off or change the settings.