Skip to main content

windows server administration

More
19 years 10 months ago #4190 by mikeb
Hello.

I'm fairly new to networking and I found this website a tremendous help in understanding basic concepts. I now would like to go more deep into cisco routing and windows 2000/2003 administration and have a few basic questions to get me started:

1. What is the purpose and basic idea of operation behind Active Directory?

2. What is the purpose and basic idea of operation behind IIS?

3. What is WINS and in what case would it be used?

4. Do you recommend purchasing a cisco router to practice for CCNA or I will be fine with Cisco IOS emulator like Boson's emulator?

5. Do you think it makes sense to get Network+ if I'm going for CCNA?

6. Can you recommend any good and easy to understand sites/tutorials on windows server 2003 administration?

7. After reading your subnetting tutorial I went to see configuration of my dlink router and noticed something interesting: my ISP assigned me a class A ip address with a default class C subnet mask. (24.xxx.xxx.xxx with 255.255.255.0). What does this mean and why would they do this?

8. Is there something like a rule of thumb for how many users maximum should be in the same subnet/broadcast domain? What is the frequency of broadcasts on windows machines? Can it be changed and controlled? Does it also depend on what software products are being run on hosts pc (do many programs send broadcast packets?). Has anyone ever done an analysis (perhaps with a graph) of number of users in the same subnet vs. effective network throughput?

Thank you very much.
More
19 years 10 months ago #4192 by IFTY
1)Active directory provides a single point of network management,
allowing you to add,remove and relocate users and resources easily.

2)IIS is capable of servicing HTTP(web),FTP(file transfers),NNTP(news),SMTP(e_mail).