Skip to main content

127.0.0.1 - few Questions

More
16 years 9 months ago #22627 by Neomax
Hi,
As u can probably see from the type of post im submitting, im fairly new to networking, but it is a topic that i am interested in
becoming more advanced in understanding.
My aim is to make myself 100% secure, and to understand if I am secure or not at the moment.
At present, I know I will never be this way until I hold a much deeper comprehension to it all first.

I'm hoping some more advanced users can help me with what I got to ask.

1a. I understand that 127.0.0.1 is a loopback IP address and I take it this just causes your computer to loop to your own actually ipaddress and in turn, back to your machine?

1b. Should I be concerned with netstat showing that I got about 18 "established" connections to this address, and 3 @ "TIME_WAIT"
I am fairly new so a bit more clarification on the different states would be nice to read also.

2. I know of the Tracert program, and that it shows you a list of all servers that the IP address passes through to reach yours, but is there a way to see who the IP addresses are?
I mean, to tell if it is msn, my virus killer, or my firewall?

3. Is there a way within MSDOS to close ports? Or does this have to be done through the firewall?
As my firewall displays a list of programs, not the ports.
Because of the issue on question 1b, I would like to be able to close down the ports the loopback ip is connected through.

4. On Netstat, it displays, TCP and UDP. Can someone explain what TCP and UDP are?

5. On IPConfig, you got a list of various things including Description, physical address, DHcp enabled, IP Address, Subnet mask, Default gateway and DNS servers.
Can someone explain a bit more about the each one of these? What is DHcp and does it matter if its enabled or not? What is the physical address? etc etc.

6. Also, I understand you can disconnect by typing ipconfig -release, and connect with ipconfig -renew