Skip to main content

Preference for a particular Linux distribuition for a Firewa

More
21 years 5 months ago #446 by drcstang
Does anyone have a particular preference for a Linux ditribution to use as a firewall. I have VERY basic needs and I am new to the world of Linux. Planning on trying out a Linux firewall as my DSL gateway here at home to try setting Linux up as a server/firewall. Wanted to know if there were distributions better suited than others for this sort of thing? My only Linux experience is with a current edition of Red Hat running on one of my clients.

Thanks!
[img]images/smiles/icon_razz.gif[/img]
More
21 years 5 months ago #447 by Chris
Hi there DRCStang,

If what your after is a simple Linux distro which will act as a firewall, then you should perhaps check out Smoothwall. www.smoothwall.org/
Smoothwall is a "custom" linux distro which has been created for people like you, who simply want a linux firewall, with a nice GUI accessable via your web browser [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

The ISO download is about 20 mb's and its free !!

Let us know how it went ! [img]images/smiles/icon_cool.gif[/img]

Chris Partsenidis.
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
www.Firewall.cx
More
21 years 4 months ago #448 by T-BoNe
Can't beat OpenBSD with IPTables and Masq IMHO
More
21 years 4 months ago #449 by Chris
IP Tables rocks !!

Cheers,
[img]images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

Chris Partsenidis.
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
www.Firewall.cx
More
20 years 11 months ago #450 by drcstang
Well, I thought I would report back to anyone that might read this post in the future. I have successfully installed Smoothwall. It does exactly what it advertises, provides a small easily configured basic firewall. I originally installed an older version, but with limited success (later discovered that my NIC was bad). I have now installed the latest beta version and it works almost flawlessly.