Skip to main content

Help with install, HD, and GRUB

More
20 years 2 months ago #2866 by Milamber
Lo all...Well for awhile on this box I've been running Windows XP and RH9...Now for some reason I felt like doing a complete reinstall of RH...So I deleted the old one from it's partition, and did all the usual crap (making a swap partition etc), but the install stuffed up...And now everytime I go to boot it comes up to the grub screen, and as I've had no previous experience with grub, I wouldn't have a clue what to do? How would I get it to boot directly into my NTFS partition, completely skipping the grub boot loader screen? I've tried going back in to the RH installation program, but I can't get any further and it keeps pausing, and also it says something about bad blocks on that partition..Now I don't really have much of an idea how to fix any of this...And I can't find my windows CD to boot off...So any help would be greatly appreciated...

...More on the grub note, I'm not really sure why GRUB Is coming up, especially seeing as though I specified LILO as my boot loader during the install, and that's what it was before I started messing around with it...I also chose my NTFS partition as the default to boot into, but at the moment it seems to have completely forgotten what windows is (which I guess can't be too bad ;) )..

..I won't have to edit like my boot.ini files or anything in windows, to force that OS to boot will I? I was thinking of just trying to obtain a program like partition majic, and completely wipe anything *nix related, because even though I deleted the partition ext3 on hda2, under the RH9 Disk Druid, it still shows up each time I go into it...Any ideas? Thanks

Peace
More
20 years 2 months ago #2868 by sahirh
Hmm, you can look here
www.gnu.org/manual/grub-0.92/html_mono/grub.html
www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/mini/Linux+NT-Loader.html