Skip to main content

My question for Admin.

More
21 years 1 month ago #294 by steelben
Hello Chris,

I'm a newbie in networking and I've just started doing self-study on CCNA recently. So please excuse me if you find my following question sounds stupid [img]images/smiles/icon_wink.gif[/img]

I have a query about your experiment "Testing communications between subnets" (see www.firewall.cx/index.php?c=ip-subnetting-routing ). I don't quite understand why your workstation could not communicate with the other 2 stations after you had modified the subnet masks. Well, recently I read about this ARP (address resolution protocol) thing in a guide. It says that if a host is configured with subnet mask and default gateway, it is able to tell whether the IP address of a destination is locally or remotely located. If local, it would send a ARP request for the IP address of destination. If remote, then it sends an ARP requesting for the MAC address of the default gateway. Applying this theory in your case, I suppose your workstation should send an ARP broadcast requesting for the MAC address of the Linux Firewall since it is already properly configured?

I would appreciate very much if you could explain more details about this particular example.

Many thanks in advance and keep up the good work.
More
21 years 1 month ago #295 by Chris
Replied by Chris on topic My question for Admin.
Dear steelben,

Your observation is totaly correct, however your missing one small detail that will make the difference [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Refering back to the same example, when I changed my subnet mask to 255.255.255.224 i split the one large 'logical' network (255.255.255.0) into eight smaller networks. Keeping this inmind, and the fact that the IP address my workstation had meant that it was on a different logical network from the rest of the hosts, it wouldnt be able to contact them unless it had a gateway that was in the same network.