Skip to main content

In need of VLAN information

More
15 years 4 weeks ago #29940 by booby
I am a student so please forgive my ignorance. I think I have the basic idea of a VLAN. According to my text a VLAN can be used to "group" certain hosts in the same broadcast domain. The book states over and over again that routers do not forward broadcasts. How does this work if a person is a member of a VLAN but is located in another building or possibly another city. Does the VTP allow a broadcast to be passed over a router? I appreciate any help I can get on this.
More
15 years 4 weeks ago #29942 by sose
remember the word by "default" they dont forward broadcast but routers could be configured for inter vlan
communication. if you create and implement VLANs, you’re essentially creating smaller
broadcast domains at layer 2. and also remeber we are taking of a switched network.
so you can configure VTP

but before you can get VTP to manage your VLANs across the network, you
have to create a VTP server. All servers that need to share VLAN information must use the same
domain name, and a switch can be in only one domain at a time. So this means that a switch
can only share VTP domain information with other switches if they’re configured into the same
VTP domain. You can use a VTP domain if you have more than one switch connected in a network,
but if you’ve got all your switches in only one VLAN, you don’t need to use VTP. VTP
information is sent between switches via a trunk port.
Switches advertise VTP-management domain information, as well as a configuration revision
number and all known VLANs with any specific parameters. And there’s also something called
VTP transparent mode
. In it, you can configure switches to forward VTP information through
trunk ports, but not to accept information updates or update their VTP databases.
If you find yourself having problems with users adding switches to your VTP domain, you