Skip to main content

Computer ports(not serial or paralell)

More
20 years 4 months ago #1848 by dipstick
I am fairly new to this stuff so bear with me. I have read several postings made with reference to ports(port 80 for example). What exactly are they, how many does a typical computer have, and what are they used for
More
20 years 4 months ago #1849 by Chris
Dipstick,

In short, Ports are used to specify a type of service you wish to use on a particular host.

Since your new to networking, it might be slightly difficult to understand this but we will keep it as simple as possible to help you understand the concept of a port.

If you want to connect to a certain computer on the internet, let's say our website, what information would you need to know ?

The answer is its IP Address, cause it identifies this specific server on the Internet. Its IP address is unique, meaning that there is only one machine on the Internet with this IP Address which is IP Address 63.247.78.186.

That's great, now we have the IP Address, we want to connect and download the website, just like you are doing right now, so you can read the reply to your post. The problem here is that this server with IP Address 63.247.78.186 dosen't only serve webpages, but also is a mail server, ftp server e.t.c.

This creates a new question ..... how on earth are you going to tell the server that you want to download the www.Firewall.cx website ?

This is where ports come into play! Using a specific port, in this example, port 80, you are specifying that you want the HTTP service.

This server, just like all other servers on the Internet has been configured to send websites to anyone who connects to them and specifies port 80.

In addition, should you decide that you needed to download a specific file from this machine by using the ftp protocol, you would be required to use the same IP address (which specifies this machine) and then port 21 (which specifies the FTP service).