Skip to main content

DHCP & VLAN's (How do they work together?)

More
18 years 2 months ago #13393 by future2000
Hi to all,

I have a conceptual issue in my head which I need to share. I'm currently studying for my CCNA and I administer a network where we use DHCP. I was thinking of splitting our network up a bit as the number of broadcasts and the negative effect they are having isn't good for our network. Anyway can anyone explain to me how I use dhcp when I've split the network up into seperate VLAN's?.

I'm not sure if I have any idea how DHCP and VLAN's work together, is it just c case of having the dhcp server on both subnets and having two scopes setup, if so, how do I determine which clients get which addresses?

Thanks

future2000 :?
More
18 years 2 months ago #13400 by jhun
hi future2000

well the way that i understand it (and please do correct me if i'm worng) that when you create vlans you create different networks altogether. logically they are in different networks with different parameters and can be "linked" togethter using intervlan routing.

actually if you have configured a dhcp server with multiple scopes, and knowing that dhcp request are broadcast to which they do not cross routing boundaries, and have enabled intervlan routing, you need to put an 'ip helper-address' in your router/L3 switch so that it will forward the request to the proper dhcp pool/scope.