Skip to main content

New to networking

More
15 years 4 months ago #28507 by crazddrumr
New to networking was created by crazddrumr
Hey guys,

This is my first post. Let me begin by giving a quick background of myself. I'm a young IT professional at the age of 23. I've already landed my first IT job as a systems analyst at the USCG Headquarters in Washington DC.

I currently possess the A+ certification but just recently started preparing for my CCNA. The further I plunge into the IT field I quickly realize that the networking side is the only aspect of IT keeping my interest. Don't get me wrong, I like to read up on other areas and have an interest, but networking seems to be the only side that I can see myself doing as a day-to-day job. Does anybody else feel the way I do?

Well that pretty much sums it up. Any comments or advice would be greatly appreciated.

I like forward to participating in the forums.

Chris
More
15 years 4 months ago #28527 by novembre
Replied by novembre on topic Re: New to networking
Hey there,

Welcome to Firewall.cx - CCNA sounds like a good idea for you. Once you've done that and had a bit of hands on experience you will hopefully get idea of where you want to take your Networking career and what study / job you should approach next. Remember that whilst Cisco is dominate there are other players and certs out there aswell.

I feel the same way, Networking is the only thing I can do full time, actually to go further Carrier Scale networking is the only thing that really interests me. But that said my Linux knowledge is often needed in an ISP environment and even some Windows admin stuff unfortunately. So keep your skills up there aswell, it is nice to be self-reliant especially with your own project work - it also looks good to employers. Anyway, if you're a nice, reasonably intelligent person who is seriously keen on this technology then you will kick ass in this industry.