Skip to main content

A question to those actually in the IT field...

More
17 years 3 months ago #19366 by RootComputing
OK, I am currently a student and have been learning/hands-on with networks for the past 3-4 years and I am happy with it. I enjoy the challenge, but also the rewards for the work. Lately I have been noticing more and more that the pay is just slipping on some of the IT jobs and company demand almost seems outrageous. Being that I am young, I am only 18 and this spring I will be graduating with a degree in network technology and then on to my BA for networking. Now I know school is all good and well, but that alone won't get you into the work force.

To me it seems that companies are shifting their ideas on IT and moving it towards a smaller staff. I am looking at job postings and seeing requirements of Microsoft certs, Cisco certs, security, back end data baseing, Linux administration, Sun Solaris systems and more and more black berry servers along with 5+ yrs exp. in high availability networks. This is a little exaggerated but honestly that's a lot and the salary doesn't seem to be matching it. Now don't get me wrong, I love to learn and I love the field, but what is IT becoming. When I first started out I was all about being a network admin, but of course you work in the field and you see there are better things. I am seeing network admin jobs at 50-60k with expectations to not only be familiar with almost all those the things listed above, but in fact have years of exp. with them.