Skip to main content

Issues with FIREWALLS

More
20 years 7 months ago #646 by sidd
Issues with FIREWALLS was created by sidd
HEY IF YOU HAVE ANY QUERIES RELATED TO FIREWALLS OR ANY CONFIG ISSUES RELATED TO CISCO PIX FIREWALL ......MAYBE I COULD HELP

SIDD
More
20 years 7 months ago #649 by Chris
Replied by Chris on topic Re: Issues with FIREWALLS
Sidd,

Please feel free to assist our fellow members in anyway you can!

Cheers,

Chris Partsenidis.
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
www.Firewall.cx
More
20 years 5 months ago #1563 by naddyboy
Replied by naddyboy on topic Firewall Newbie
Hi Sidd,

Can u tell me if there are any simluations available for chechpoint firewalls like there are for routers? I tried several google searches but no luck. I'm new to firewalls.

How differrent are checkpoint firewalls from cisco pix firewalls in terms of configuration, operation and functionality?
Which one serves what purpose ?

thanx

Syed :D
More
20 years 5 months ago #1597 by sahirh
Replied by sahirh on topic Re: Issues with FIREWALLS
Naddyboy, I really doubt you'd find a checkpoint evaluation.. you'd be better off checking out a trial version. Checkpoint as a firewall is actually a whole lot of modules, you buy licenses for whatever you want to use and on the CD you get demos of all their other stuff.

The Cisco PIX is a box.. whereas Check Point is software. Also checkpoint can be deployed in a distributed system.. hmm I actually have some short notes I wrote on CP NG a while ago as a general description.. I'll just post it here, keep in mind that some of the details may have changed :

Check Point Firewall-1 NG is a stateful multilayer inspection firewall consisting of a

1 GUI where security policy is defined
2 Management Server where the policy and logging is saved
3 Firewall module deployed at gateways where the security policy is loaded