Skip to main content

Few quick QoS question regarding possibilities...

More
13 years 10 months ago #35029 by dynamis_dk
Hi All, I'm pretty new to firewalls and any advanced networking really.

I'm looking to setup something like a ipcop / smoothwall etc based firewall for home use but i'm mainly after a decent level of filtering traffic priorities for the device used on the network.

I'm wanting to prioriries given as 1, 2 etc... lower number higher priority:

1) - xbox traffic over all else (192.168.0.3)
2) - my PC internet (192.168.0.2) & Iphone (192.168.0.4) web browsing (so maybe if i can give 80, 21 priority)
3) hardcode torrent traffic on any PC (so would be based on ports so say 30001 and 30002 for example case to cover my PC and Dads) to be given least priority over anything else.

Not sure how clear that is so if you need it clearing up let me know.

Is the above a realistic example of what something like IPCop / smoothwall / pfsense would be able to manage??

I've also be using the firewall with a extra adapter to run wireless via a AP but i would want this to run on the same 192.168.0.x subnet as the wired PC's as i need them all taking together (unless i neep wired on 192.168.0.x and wireless on say 192.168.1.x but i don't know if i'm making life hard for myself etc.

cheers
More
13 years 9 months ago #35037 by BIGD
This is from the 'Qos' - 'Help' page on Smothwall....

==>
QoS

SmoothWall is able to decide if some of the network traffic is more urgent than others. Imagine your network connection is like a multilane freeway or motorway. The faster the connection, the more lanes. However, a motorway is not very fast if every lane is blocked by a large lorry!

Enabling QoS is like enforcing traffic regulations - such as Heavy Goods Vehicles(HGVs) are only permitted in the inside lanes. Smoothwall QoS defines four such 'lanes':

* slow - for traffic that you wish to force to go slow even if the motorway (Internet connection) is otherwise empty.