Skip to main content

question about ports blocking btw 2 servers

More
13 years 10 months ago #34767 by shens
Hi!
i'm really new at this and don't know a lot about networking, sorry for my basic knowledge...

I'm adding a feature in a website that must communicate with another website. website A (my side) is on https, website B (3rd party) is on normal http i think. my dev machine is able to connect to website B no problem, but live server is unable to. The live server have everything blocked and we need to get coorp to open ports for us. Coorp said they opened both 80 and 443 but it's still not working... What I want to know is, is the 3rd party sending response on 80 instead of 443 that is the problem or is there other ports that should be opened for such a situation :

website A must send a request to website B to get an ID though port 80 method POST. Website B sends back a response also through port 80 or 443. I'm using wireshark with my dev machine and one thing i saw is that when website A sends to website B, source port is a number that changes and destination port is 80. When website B sends back to website A, it's the reverse. I read
www.firewall.cx/tcp-analysis-section-1.php
and I'm wondering, is it because website B is trying to reply with port 80? and that's why it's failing on live server and not my dev machine
or is it the source port number that keeps changing and is being blocked?

Any help & explanation & suggestion are welcome!!
Thanks in advance!
More
13 years 10 months ago #34769 by KiLLaBeE