Skip to main content

Best software firewall

More
20 years 3 months ago #2327 by blueice7
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to firewalls.
Can anyone help me in choosing a software firewall for personal use?

I might need another one for use at enterprise-level as well.
So any help is welcome.

Thanks
More
20 years 3 months ago #2343 by sahirh
Replied by sahirh on topic Re: Best software firewall
Hi blueice,
Choosing a personal firewall is a really simple thing to do, and a very wise choice to make. Most of the personal firewalls out there are very similar in features. I personally use ZoneAlarm (its more or less acknowledged as the best in the home user market). It is easy to set up, yet powerful enough for you to add fairly complicated rules if you want to. Out of the box it will protect your system well enough. Furthermore its not a resource hog such as some of the others. The company has recently been bought by CheckPoint, the makers of a very popular enterprise firewall.. so maybe we'll see some of that technology incorporated into ZA soon.

Here are a few links to check out :
ZoneAlarm - www.zonelabs.com
Sygate Personal Firewall - www.sygate.com
Tiny Personal Firewall - www.tinysoftware.com

If you're in for the learning experience, you could try using another machine as a filtering gateway.. such as a linux table running the NetFilter packet filtering system (iptables). Though that would not be an out of the box solution.

I suggest you search through the rest of the posts in this forum, there are many entitled 'Best firewall' and suchlike, in which the discussion has been taken to its logical conclusion (on firewall.cx that means me and the other moderator, tfs, have agreed to disagree :)).

When we talk about enterprise level firewalls, we're in a different ballpark.. the options get confused by the number of offerings in the market.... here are some things to consider:
Price - Someone has to shell out for the damn thing. Prices can range for free, to $lots.