Skip to main content

Blocking Internet Access on ASA 5505

More
16 years 10 months ago #22345 by jrecto
I am new to the Cisco firewall and need some help with blocking internet access to specific users.

I have a group of IP address that are not allowed to have Internet access. How would I go about setting this up?

Thanks!!
Jasper
More
16 years 10 months ago #22347 by Smurf
If you just want to block all access through the ASA for a group of IP Addresses you can do the following;

Create an Object Group
Create an Access-List
Apply the Access-List.

The creation of the Object Group will depend on the group of IP Addresses. If they are a continuous group that can be mapped using a subnet mask. i.e. 10.10.10.1 to 10.10.10.15 you could do 10.10.10.0/28 (10.10.10.0 255.255.255.240) which will cover this range. You can then create the Object Group by typing this

[code:1]
object-group network deny_ips
network-object 10.10.10.0 255.255.255.240
[/code:1]

Then you can create an access-list

access-list inside-int extended deny ip object-group deny_ips any
access-list inside-int extended permit ip any any

Then you need to apply the access list

access-group inside-int in interface inside

Thats basically how you would do what you asked, however i would not simply create an access list to deny a specific range of ip's and allow all other traffic out, you need to develop a proper policy on what traffic is allowed out of the network and create the access-list accordingly.

Cheers

Wayne

Wayne Murphy
Firewall.cx Team Member
www.firewall.cx

Now working for a Security Company called Sec-1 Ltd in the UK, for any
Penetration Testing work visit www.sec-1.com or PM me for details.
More
16 years 10 months ago #22348 by jrecto
Thanks Wayne for the reply.