Skip to main content

Using two internet connections

More
19 years 4 months ago #6617 by micah
Ok, here's how it is:
Im a student at a small private university in KY. In august our on campus ethernet sucked, I mean really sucked, time outs on simply browsing, download speeds below 1(one)k/sec... you get the picture.

So comcast came to the rescue, provided cable access to students, my 3 roommates and I got together and paid for it and it rocks... we can actually use the internet, and going back to dial-up at home is really painful. (only thing available here in the rural community)

Well, our IS department got there act and some grant money together and we're finally on a good connection (I think it's a full T1 for around 800 resident students, but don't hold me too it).

So now... we have two good-fast connections available. I'd like to be able to add them together so that we can have access to more bandwidth. I think linux is the only way to do it but if there's any other way, someone let me know.

And just to make it a little harder... the campus ethernet connection is flittered and packet sniffed and all sorts of things. I know I'll have to point our P2P software ports to the cable connection as the campus (and rightfully so) has it blocked. But what about http traffic that gets denied on the campus connection? Will it flip to the cable automatically? How do I avoid this problem?

Also, in linux, will the two connections be effectively 'added' together or can I only use one as the primary connection and then switch to another when one is bogged down? Can I only tell the server to use connection A for certain clients and connection B for another set of clients?

If linux is not the way to go that's ok, I've never really used linux anyway... but I like to get in over my head to learn something new.
More
19 years 4 months ago #6623 by nske
welcome micah, that's an interesting topic you open!