Skip to main content

VLAN

More
19 years 6 months ago #5402 by Tracer
VLAN was created by Tracer
I am studying the articles about VLAN in this site and I was amazed about advantages that we can get if we used VLANs.

I have a cisco 2600 router - I think it is VLAN capable.
cisco systems 800 routers and a couple of switches and hubs.

My problem is I want to set up a VLAN that has segment for each department. for example HR and Accounting dept. I am using a class c network. and I want to set up 190.10.100.1-254 for HR and 190.10.101.1-254 for Accounting dept.

Is it possible?
How do I start?

Thank you very much!! :D :D :D

Tracer
More
19 years 6 months ago #5404 by sahirh
Replied by sahirh on topic Re: VLAN
You will need to make sure that your switches are also VLAN capable.. are they catalyst managed switches like 2900 series or similar, in which case you will be able to configure vlans.

You might want to upgrade the IOS on the switches first, assuming you have the flash for it.

Otherwise your proposed design sounds like a very good implementation. You'll get good collision and broadcast management, a more efficient network, and that little bit of extra security.

Cheers,

Sahir Hidayatullah.
Firewall.cx Staff - Associate Editor & Security Advisor
tftfotw.blogspot.com
More
19 years 6 months ago #5406 by Tracer
Replied by Tracer on topic Re: VLAN
Ok I see...

But what if I have only a router, hub and some switches that are not intelligent? What I mean is that ordinary switches that only can give 100mbps bandwidth, can't route and can't recognize mac address.

Is it possible to have a VLAN? If I can make segments for each deparment?

Thanks a lot sahirh!!!
More
19 years 6 months ago #5409 by jhun
Replied by jhun on topic Re: VLAN
hi tracer

as to my understanding, the implementation of vlans cannot be done without the use of vlan enabled devices specifically the switches that are required to implement the type of segmenting that you prefer.