Skip to main content

Questions about setting up a SOHO network

More
21 years 3 weeks ago #378 by steelben
Hello,

I’m new to networking and I’m thinking of setting up a SOHO network at home. One of my main intentions is to allow my friends to remotely access my files in my FTP sever. Well, here’s my basic plan for the network:
- Two workstations in my home.
- One File sever (running win2k, maybe)
Setting up a LAN may not yet a big problem as I see. There are many reference books in the stores that I can refer to. My big question is how do I link my LAN to the internet (so that my friends can access my file sever)? Currently I’m subscribed to dial-up broadband and my PC is simply connected to internet via an ADSL USB modem (attached with analog phone line connecting my home’s phone jack). I intend to use a router as gateway/firewall in my LAN but I don’t know how I should physically link the router to internet. Do I need to connect the router to a modem? Do I need to purchase special adapter or modem? I understand I need to obtain a Public IP address from my ISP but then I have no idea about the physical connectivity between the router and internet.

I sincerely hope anyone reading this can give me some ideas about setting up my network.

Many thanks in advance.
More
20 years 6 months ago #719 by sahirh
Hmm.. first off, will this be an 'always on' network.. in which case you will need to subscribe to some always on type of connection.. Cable.. or DSL.. or TI ;) depending on your budget. Otherwise you can go with your existing setup.. your LAN will work all the time, and have internet access only when the dial up is connected... As i said it depends on what you want to do.

If you go with your existing setup, you dont need to put a router in there.. you just configure the machine which has direct internet access as the default gateway.. and set up the other machines to share its internet connection..