Skip to main content

Dark DHCP

More
13 years 3 weeks ago #36677 by BharatNT2IE
Dark DHCP was created by BharatNT2IE
Hello folks, this question means a lot me. The diagram of our organization is shown below. Now we are connected to

Verizon FiOS<
>Linksys<
> Net Gear Switch<
> Windows Server 2008 R2

<\

\

\> 30 Users

Now, the managers ( operational) have asked us a logical question when our network was down ( due to address conflict ) Where is our DHCP server ? Now , i guess the Linksys WRTG54 Wireless / Hub router is the DHCP server. But my question is : How will that device know, that it needs to act as the DHCP server , and it is the only DHCP server in our network? I do not know what you call that device , the frienldly Verizon Technician comes and installs . What is that "thing"?

This is frustrating.... i am a future network engineer, I am so.... @#$%@#$@#$34 at myself , that i want to know what it is its function? etc. is this the DHCP server?????? So how will the Linksys router know that it is the DHCP server?????? Will this thing give some sort of signal from it WAN port saying..."Hey whosoever is connected to me , you are the DHCP server" ? Or the DHCP server is somewhere beyond this LAN,,,,,What about the DNS where is this located??????

I might not be asking a technical question as such? But i am trying to learn how this DHCP works in the real world. I DO NOT NEED A PERFECT ANSWER, BUT IF I COULD GET A BRIEF OVERVIEW. I WOULD BE HAPPY!!!!!!

And we configured the Windows Sever 2008 R2 with Static IP and disable DHCP on it. So there is no chance that , it the DHCP. So tell me in terms of Home users also. How does this device know?????? Is this Wireless Router / Unmanaged Switch(Hub) the PATing device. Please guys , i could really use your help???????

Thanks

Bharat[img][/img]

Bharat Chandra Penumutchu
CCENT
MS IN TELECOMMUNICATIONS
George Mason University
More
13 years 3 weeks ago #36679 by MarkB7299
Replied by MarkB7299 on topic Re: Dark DHCP