Skip to main content

client/server

More
14 years 11 months ago #30549 by terryboob
client/server was created by terryboob
im not really experienced in finding information, although i tried as much as possible to get all the information I needed, is not really informative. i googled my question is what sort of networking devices do i need to build client/server network. i want to build a network for 13 computers , well i dont think peer to peer network is good for this.

i know i need router, server and printer and some sotfware, application and storage devices.

but what kind of router model and brand and other devices that can make a good solution of client/server network
_____
More
14 years 11 months ago #30552 by S0lo
Replied by S0lo on topic Re: client/server
I hope I understand you well here.

To create a LAN, the basic minimum you need is a switch and UTP cables connecting the switch to the clients/PCs. You need a router/ADSL/modem if you want to the connect the internet.

However, This does not hardly relate to a client/server model. A client/server scheme is a broad term. You need to pin point what your looking for. For example, clients running a web browser and a server running webserver is a form of a client/server network. Or Clients configured as Active Directory clients for a server running as a domain controller is another form of a client/server network. Both schemes can work on just a simple LAN with a switch, or they can work on a large network with many routers and switches.

Studying CCNP...

Ammar Muqaddas
Forum Moderator
www.firewall.cx
More
14 years 11 months ago #30558 by KiLLaBeE
Replied by KiLLaBeE on topic Re: client/server