Skip to main content

Network Troubleshooting

More
17 years 11 months ago #14737 by teddyshyne
I am a cisco rookie....still trying to get my feet situated properly in the field. I just completed a CCNA training, though coming from a Unix background, everything feels different to me. I need resources on troubleshooting, how do i approach a downed network, what should be my troubleshooting guidelines?
More
17 years 11 months ago #14739 by The_Geek

I am a cisco rookie....still trying to get my feet situated properly in the field. I just completed a CCNA training, though coming from a Unix background, everything feels different to me. I need resources on troubleshooting, how do i approach a downed network, what should be my troubleshooting guidelines?

Well, for starters:

(1) Can anyone connect to the internet, or it it only limited to one or two people?

(2) Does the internet router supply NAT/DHCP, or is it in bridged mode to an internal router/firewall?

(3) Can you ping the internal gateway address? Can you ping the external IP address?

(4) If you connect a PC directly into the internet router, can you access the internet?

Powered by
More
17 years 11 months ago #14740 by d_jabsd
Replied by d_jabsd on topic Re: Network Troubleshooting
Your troubleshooting methods are going to vary from issue to issue.

In its basic form, you have 3 options:
1. troubleshoot from the outside in
2. troubleshoot from the inside out
3. split the difference and start in the middle, working your way out/in, then go the other direction.

In general, networks don't usually just die. The problem can usually be traced back to Carrier issues, Misconfigurations, bad cables, or 'acts of god' -ie: storms causing power outages.

-In the case of a misconfiguration, back out everything you just did and see if the problem goes away.
-In the case of carrier issues, once discovered, call your ISP.
-Bad cables are usually an issue right away. Replace it or remake it if you roll your own.