Skip to main content

What makes a good Network Engineer ?

More
18 years 2 months ago #13315 by Starfire
I have an I.T. background approaching 15 years ranging from helpdesk, PC Support, networking but mostly MS/Novell server support. With the current salaries for these roles dropping fast lately (i've seen as low as £6 / 10 euros per hour) , I am studying CCNA as a first step to moving into network support. (also after all these years, it's one of the few remaining interesting parts of i.t support).

That said, I am wondering what qualities existing Network Support Firewall.cx readers think makes up a good/great network engineer?

I'm sure it cannot all be about any particular qualification so what knowledge, experience, personal abilities seperate the wheat from the chaff?
More
18 years 2 months ago #13319 by d_jabsd
First and foremost- Passion. You have to love it to do well at it. If you don't love it, don't bother. The dotcom era is over and the pay scale is no longer high enough to 'learn it so you can make big cash.'

- A drive to continuously learn new and old technologies and the ability to look outside the box to find better ways of doing things and then actually do it. Knowledge is nothing if you can't apply it.

- A good understanding of network protocols and how services and systems interact with each other and the user. As a simple example: An engineer at my last job thought the directory index page generated by Apache was ftp- just because it listed directories. His lack of understanding filtered down to even the most basic tasks. Needless to say, he was horrible at his job so I was the one who designed his solutions and fixed his problems.