Skip to main content

IP address of a switch and router..

More
14 years 10 months ago #30675 by Rel4
Hi ,

A basic qn,

Does a switch ,router and hub have an IP address..

Also can some one explain what is meant by a default gate way and what is its use..?
More
14 years 10 months ago #30678 by pedenski
hi there.. well, im not an expert but how I understand them,. by default routers, switch, hubs dont have IP configured, you need to manually configure or dynamically put IP's on them..

Default Gateways works on routers. When you need to send data outside your network, frames pass through the router in which the gateway resides. They work as a boundary to your LAN from Outside your network.
More
14 years 10 months ago #30681 by sys-halt
Basically every device that is connected into a network and is considered manageable has an IP address or can be assigned an IP address.

Routers have IP addresses assigned to their interfaces because simply Routers need IP addresses to route packets. if you bought for example a Cisco router, open the box, take the router out, sit it onto your desk plug it into the network would it do the job it is supposed to do? can you imagine a router that doesn't know how to route:-)? well, it is a dump router at first until you tell it this your Ip addresses and this is how you can route. so really to be intelligent and able to do its function it requires IP addresses.

Switches not all should have IP addresses unless they are manageable. if you got a simple unmanageable switch where you can't monitor what is coming in and out of the switch or being able to shutdown some ports and open others then why we would want that switch to be assigned IP address?