Skip to main content

Connection Loss

More
17 years 9 months ago #15789 by mikel23
Connection Loss was created by mikel23
Hi Everyone

I need some help! :D
I work in IT and have 20 or so users using remote citrix desktops to work on another companies internal network. The basic procedure is as follows just so you know what type of connection we are using:
1. User creates a secure VPN session via a web browser using RSA SecurID.
2. User authenticates to remote network via Citrix.
3. User opens a remote citrix desktop window on his/her machine.

Now we are finding that the connection is very unstable. The user can be happily working away and then the connection will drop and then automatically reconnect itself and take the user back to point when the connection dropped. Sometimes the connection will drop continuosly every 4 or 5 seconds. Our Cisco PIX 515 Firewall/Router has been checked and all is clear. Is there anything else I can check?? I have changes a few PC's to use an MTU 1000 setting on their interface to force that connection speed but hasn't made much difference.

Any ideas would be grately appreciated.

Michael
More
17 years 9 months ago #15798 by Rockape
Replied by Rockape on topic Re: Connection Loss
Have you tried testing/checking the link between the two networks? Maybe you are having dropouts on the network. You you maintain the link, or is it a third party? If it is a third party, log a fault call with them, and get them to check the link. If you guys maintain it, try doing some packet captures when the system is "failing" and see what you can find.

There are plenty of people around here who can help/advise on packet captures etc.

Hope that helps, if not, give us some more information and we can see what we can do.
More
17 years 9 months ago #15923 by mikel23
Replied by mikel23 on topic Re: Connection Loss
Hi Rockape