Skip to main content

Firewall Choice

More
20 years 4 months ago #1943 by RY
Firewall Choice was created by RY
I'm setting up a site to site VPN between 2 offices and would like some advice. The main office will have the server and firewall but the branch office will only have a firewall. We've got about 20 computers in the main office and 10 at the branch.

1. Some people advised to get an identical pair of firewalls, some say it doesn't matter. Who's right?

2. I'm looking at the Cisco PIX 501 and Netscreen 5 GT (formerly 5 XT). Any opinions or personal experiences with these 2 firewalls?

:?: Thanks.

RY
More
20 years 4 months ago #1946 by sahirh
Replied by sahirh on topic Re: Firewall Choice
The PIX 501 is a very good, very versatile firewall.. I've never used the Netscreen products before.

Remember, when it comes to networking, you can't go wrong with Cisco... I can't think of one bad product they make.

Cheers,

Sahir Hidayatullah.
Firewall.cx Staff - Associate Editor & Security Advisor
tftfotw.blogspot.com
More
20 years 4 months ago #1968 by RY
Replied by RY on topic Re: Firewall Choice
Thanks. Really appreciate it. :lol:

Any comments on my query about identical firewalls or dissimilar firewalls is recommended between 2 points? Thanks.

Networking is really fascinating and I'm looking forward to setting up the network.

B. Rgds,
RY
More
20 years 4 months ago #1969 by tfs
Replied by tfs on topic Re: Firewall Choice
The problem would not be the firewall, but the VPN connection. If you set different firewalls up the same with the same security, they may (and should) work, but this is not guaranteed.

I have used 2 sonicwall firewalls together, with no problem, but when I connected a linksys firewall and tried to connect the VPN, there was a little problem until I got a beta upgrade that handled the sonicwall correctly.