Skip to main content

Booting XM Images on Non-XM 2600

More
14 years 6 months ago #31777 by sharky1337
Hey Cisco Experts,

I'm studying for the CCNA and i want to build my own little lab. I don't like simulation tools like packet tracer and so on. I want to have Cisco hardware in front of me ;) . So i checked many websites and read a lot of interesting stuff.

Last week i get my first cisco 3640. I want to add one or two in a month. But the 3640 isn't very cheap.

Today I stumble arround and have found this nice tutorial.

www.internetworkexpert.com/resources/tftpdnld.htm

Now my question: Is it still working ? I know that i don't need OSPV v3 or IPv6 in my CCNA work but CCNA is not the end of my career.

Please help me.

Feel free to correct my bad english ;)
More
14 years 6 months ago #31779 by Regeth
I don't believe that will work at all. You are asking to boot an IOS for a 2600XM router on a 3640. What you want to do is look for this IOS.

c3640-is-mz.123-18a.bin

It's verison 12.3.18a, general deployment. IP Plus. it will have all the IPv6 options you should need.
More
14 years 6 months ago #31800 by sharky1337
Hey,

thanks for your help. I'm not trying to install the image of the 2600xm on my 3640.

I only want to know. If it still possible to boot the xm image on a 2610?

The 2610 is much cheaper and smaller than the 3640. So i can get more routers in my lab in a short period of time.

Another question comes up if i saw that the 2611 have only one ethernet port, not a fast ethernet port. Do i really need a f/a port? I can't imagine for what purpose i need 100 mbps.
More
14 years 6 months ago #31814 by S0lo

I only want to know. If it still possible to boot the xm image on a 2610?