Skip to main content

Inherited ASA 5505 confused about Config

More
10 years 3 weeks ago #38501 by dloj333
Hi Everyone,
Thanks for the site it has helped and confused me more. :)

I inhereited an ASA 5505 in this new position I have and I found this site and followed the setup process.for Basic ASA 5505 configuration and it did not work. I could not access the outside (internet) that was a few months ago.

I got back to it the other day and still couldn't connect to the internet until I started playing around with outside and inside. When I set the computer I am using to access the console as dhcp I get out but the IP address of the computer is using my main network ip naming scheme rather than the ASA box naming scheme.

So I am confused I am attaching my running-config. Any help would be appreciated.

File Attachment:

File Name: Dan_runnin...nfig.txt
File Size:3 KB

Thanks in advance
Attachments:
More
10 years 3 weeks ago #38503 by Chris
Hi dloj333 and welcome to Firewall.cx.

In regards to your confusion on how to setup the ASA Firewall, it usually happens when we skip through sections or read too fast, missing critical points.

From your configuration, I see that VLAN 2 - Outside interface is set to DHCP and also has the 'setroute' parameter, which means you do not need the following incorrect default route:
Code:
route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.17.57 1

As a next step, I'd highly advise you read through the following small sections on our ASA Firewall Startup guide

Create, Configure and Apply TCP/UDP Object-Groups
Configuration of Access-Lists for ICMP Packets to the Internet
Appling Firewall Access-Lists to ‘inside’ and ‘outside’ Interfaces

After configuring the above, you should have a working ASA Firewall and your LAN will have Internet access.

The biggest issue in your configuration was that you had incorrectly configured the default route.

Chris Partsenidis.
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
www.Firewall.cx
The following user(s) said Thank You: dloj333